diversity · recs · tags

Diverse Spotlight Thursday #1

Hello, everyone! This is my first time doing the weekly Diverse Spotlight Thursday! Though, to be honest, I’ll probably only do it twice a month, just because I try to update 6 top 8 times a month and it’s already a lot for me to do alone, considering my schedule, so yeah. Consider yourselves warned haha

Anyway, let’s start by explaining what Diverse Spotlight Thursday is all about: This is a tag hosted by Bookshelves & Paperbacks, in which every week (or, in my case, every two weeks), we’re to share with followers 3 different diverse books. One we’ve read and enjoyed, one that’s already been released but we’ve not read and one that’s yet to be released! You can find more info on this tag here.

Let’s do this!

A diverse book you have read and enjoyed

31450908Down Among the Sticks and Bones by Seanan McGuire

This book was really much more than I hoped for! While I adored the first book in this companion series, this one felt like a much more complete story.
Jack and Jill are, in my opinion, the perfect main characters for a story such as this one. Down Among the Sticks and Bones is about gender, expectations, the whole society plays in who we turn out to be, all very important topics that are, in my opinion, so well shown in this short novella.
This is a creepy, twisted tale of two sisters, and while it’s not as diverse as the first book, does have a queer main character. I can’t wait for what comes next in this series!


Goodreads|Amazon


 

A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read

34330728City of Strife by Claudie Arsenault

Honestly, I was already sold on this book when it was described to me as a political high fantasy with a queer cast. That’s basically my dream description for any fantasy series.

The book centers around Arathiel, who’s been away from home for too long, and seeks to go back and find the sense of belonging he’s been missing. Except things back home are more complicated than expected, and a friend getting accused of a crime he -maybe- didn’t commit throws Arathiel to the middle of a political struggle bigger than expected.

City of Strife is the first book in a series that has magic, elves and a lot of political intrigue. I can’t wait to be able to dive into this world.

I also adore the gorgeous cover!

 


Goodreads|Amazon


 

A diverse book that has not yet been released

25062038Little & Lion by Brandy Colbert

This is a book I’ve had my eyes on for a while already. Little & Lion is a book about identity, mental illness and complex family relationships. So, you know, the things some of the best YA contemporaries are all about.

Little is a girl just back to LA from her East Coast boarding school, and faced with a lot of new things, including falling in love with the same girl her brother loves and this same brother’s recently diagnosed bipolar disorder.

This book features a black, jewish and bisexual main character, and I truly cannot wait to get my hands on it!

Little & Lion comes out on August 8, so there’s only a few days left to preorder!


Goodreads|Amazon


Aaaand, that’s it for this week’s Diversity Spotlight Thursday! Did you read any of the books mentioned here? If so, did you like it? If not, do you want/plan to? Let me know down in the comments!

 

white

4 thoughts on “Diverse Spotlight Thursday #1

    1. I was very happy to join! It was a suggestion from Laura (@bbliophile), and I thought it looked like fun!
      Yessss, their story was so much better than I thought it would be. I like the story itself even better than I liked EHAD!

      Like

Leave a Reply

